Cover Reveal & Book Giveaway: The Monster Who Wasn’t – T. C. Shelley (Illustrated by Claire Powell) – Published 8th August 2019

I’m so excited to be able to exclusively reveal the cover of T. C. Shelley‘s debut children’s novel, The Monster Who Wasn’t (which has been brilliantly illustrated by Claire Powell) which will be published on 8th August 2019 by Bloomsbury Children’s.

I’m also super happy because the very lovely people at Bloomsbury have given me five proof copies of The Monster Who Wasn’t to give away so you can be one of its very first readers!

Find out more below!


The Monster Who Wasn’t – T. C. Shelley
(Illustrated by Claire Powell)

TheMonsterWhoWasnt hi res cover.jpg

A brilliantly rich and strange fantasy adventure that will make us all believe in monsters  be they good, bad or somewhere in between.

It is a well-known fact that fairies are born from a baby’s first laugh. What is not as well documented is how monsters come into being 

This is the story of a creature who is both strange and unique. When he hatches down in the vast underground lair where monsters dwell, he looks just like a human boy – much to the disgust of everyone watching. Even the grumpy gargoyles who adopt him and nickname him ‘Imp’ only want him to steal chocolate for them from the nearby shops. He’s a child with feet in both worlds, and he doesn’t know where he fits.

But little does Imp realise that Thunderguts, king of the ogres, has a great and dangerous destiny in mind for him, and he’ll stop at nothing to see it come to pass…


The first book in a deeply magical fantasy adventure trilogy for 9+ readers.

Perfect for fans of The House with Chicken Legs, The Spiderwick Chronicles and The Uncommoners.


T. C. Shelley

T.C. Shelley studied Creative Writing and Literature at university. She has been teaching English for over twenty years and her first school was classified as the most remote in Australia. She loves an audience and long before she took up teaching was writing and performing her poetry and short stories. She began writing novels to entertain her daughter, who wisely suggested that she try to get them published. Shelley lives with her husband, her daughter and two dogs in Perth, Western Australia.

The Monster Who Wasn’t is her first novel.

You can find out more about T. C. by following her on Twitter: @TCShelley1.


Claire Powell

Life for Claire began in a cupboard under the stairs. Not as punishment like Harry Potter, it’s where she went to draw. Her parents sensing her love for drawing, turned the closet into an art den and it’s where Claire could always be found… until she got too big to fit that is.

Claire is now an illustrator, writer and designer who lives and works in London. Her clients include: Bloomsbury, Simon and Schuster, Hodder, Little Tiger, Harper Collins, Apple, Vital Arts, BBC, UKTV, Nickelodeon and DreamWorks Animation.

You can find out more about Claire on her website or by following her on Twitter: @misspowellpeeps.


Pre-order: The Monster Who Wasn’t is available to pre-order now online at AmazonWaterstones, Hive or from any good independent bookshop.


Biggest thanks to Emily Marples and all at Bloomsbury for giving me the wonderful opportunity to reveal this gorgeously magical cover and for providing proof copies for the giveaway!

I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

Mr E


Giveaway!

The very lovely people at Bloomsbury have kindly given me five proof copies of The Monster Who Wasn’t to give away!

TheMonsterWhoWasnt hi res cover.jpg

If you’d like to be in with a chance of being one of the first readers to read The Monster Who Wasn’t, simply retweet (RT) this tweet!

Proof copies will be sent to winners when available from Bloomsbury, as soon as possible.

One thought on “Cover Reveal & Book Giveaway: The Monster Who Wasn’t – T. C. Shelley (Illustrated by Claire Powell) – Published 8th August 2019

  1. erinthecatprincess says:

    Love the artwork from Claire Powell, it really grabs the attention without being OTT.
    I read a lot of YA/middle grade fiction, and this sounds just my kind of read, different and exciting in one. I just don’t know how I will manage to wait till August to find out how it develops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s